Friday, September 16, 2016

Friday's Film Adaption: The Darling Buds of May by HE Bates

The Darling Buds of May, which came out in 1958, was the first of five Larkin novels and in it readers witness the transformation of Mr. Charlton from a undernourished and timid tax clerk to ‘Charlie’, a fully-converted member of the Larkin way of life: an easygoing celebration of nature, food, drink, and family. In the process, the reader is introduced to the Brigadier, Miss Pilchester, and Angela Snow. Setting the style for the series, the book ends with a grand celebration, and the announcement of the wedding of Charlie and Mariette.

A tax agent falls for a farm girl whose father he's investigating.

Release Date: April 29, 1959
Release Time: 96 minutes

Tony Randall as Lorenzo Charlton
Debbie Reynolds as Mariette Larkin
Paul Douglas as Pop Larkin
Una Merkel as Ma Larkin
Fred Clark as Oliver Kelsey
Philip Ober as Wendell Burnshaw
Philip Coolidge as Reverend Osgood
Charles Lane as Inspector General Bigelow
Trevor Bardette as Chief Guthrie
William Smith as Barney
Addison Powell as David De Groot
Rickey Murray as Lee Larkin
Donald Losby as Grant Larkin
Cheryl Bailey as Victoria Larkin
Caryl Bailey as Susan Larkin

Author Bio:
Herbert Ernest Bates was born May 16, 1905 in Rushden, Northamptonshire, England. He left school before the age of seventeen. After brief stints as a reporter and a clerk at a warehouse, he began to establish himself as a writer. His first novel, The Two Sisters , appeared in 1926; in the next fifteen years he published eight novels and more than a dozen short story collections. Among the most critically acclaimed works of his early career are his novel The Poacher (1935), his short story collections Something Short and Sweet (1937), and My Uncle Silas (1939).




No comments:

Post a Comment