Friday, January 1, 2016

Friday's Film Adaption: The Poseidon Adventure by Paul Gallico

On its maiden voyage, luxury ocean liner SS Poseidon is capsized by a massive undersea earthquake. A handful of survivors must fight for their lives—struggling to make it from the upper deck of the ship to the hull, the only part above water, before the ship sinks. Faced with rising water and the violence of desperate passengers and crewmembers, the group must do everything it can to survive—before time runs out. Adapted into an award-winning film by Irwin Allen, The Poseidon Adventure is a thrilling tale with timeless suspense and excitement.

Passengers and crew struggle to escape an ocean liner turned upside down.
Release Date: December 12, 1972
Release Time: 117 minutes

Gene Hackman as Reverend Frank Scott
Ernest Borgnine as Detective Lieutenant Mike Rogo
Stella Stevens as Linda Rogo
Red Buttons as James Martin
Carol Lynley as Nonnie Parry
Shelley Winters as Belle Rosen
Jack Albertson as Manny Rosen
Roddy McDowall as Acres
Pamela Sue Martin as Susan Shelby
Arthur O'Connell as Chaplain John
Eric Shea as Robin Shelby
Leslie Nielsen as Captain Harrison
Fred Sadoff as Mr. Linarcos
Byron Webster as the Purser
Jan Arvan as Dr. Caravello
Sheila Mathews as the ship's nurse
John Crawford as Chief Engineer
Erik L. Nelson as Mr. Tinkham
Ernie Orsatti as Terry

Academy Awards
Best Supporting Actress: Shelley Winters  Nominated
Best Production Design: William J. Creber & Raphael Bretton  Nominated
Best Original Song ("The Morning After"): Al Kasha & Joel Hirschhorn  Won
Best Original Score: John Williams  Nominated
Best Costume Design: Paul Zastupnevich  Nominated
Best Sound: Theodore Soderberg & Herman Lewis  Nominated
Best Cinematography: Harold E. Stine  Nominated
Best Film Editing: Harold F. Kress  Nominated

BAFTA Awards
Best Actor: Gene Hackman  Won
Best Supporting Actress: Shelley Winters  Nominated

Golden Globe
Best Supporting Actress – Motion Picture: Shelley Winters  Won
Best Original Score: John Williams  Nominated
Best Original Song ("The Morning After"): Al Kasha & Joel Hirschhorn  Nominated
Best Motion Picture – Drama: Irwin Allen  Nominated

On New Year's Eve, the luxury ocean liner Poseidon capsizes after being swamped by a rogue wave. The survivors are left to fight for their lives as they attempt to escape the sinking ship.
Release Date: May 12, 2006
Release Time: 98 minutes

Josh Lucas as Dylan Johns
Kurt Russell as Robert Ramsey
Jacinda Barrett as Maggie James
Richard Dreyfuss as Richard Nelson
Emmy Rossum as Jennifer Ramsey
Mía Maestro as Elena Morales
Mike Vogel as Christian Sanders
Kevin Dillon as Lucky Larry
Freddy Rodriguez as Marco Valentin
Jimmy Bennett as Conor James
Stacy Ferguson as Gloria
Andre Braugher as Captain Michael Bradford
Kirk B. R. Woller as Chief Officer Reynolds
Gabriel Jarret as First Officer Chapman





Author Bio:
Paul Gallico (1897-1976) was an American novelist and sportswriter. Born in New York City, he graduated from Columbia University and became the sports editor and columnist for the New York Daily News, where he became known for asking champion boxer Jack Dempsey to spar with him during an interview. He founded the Golden Gloves amateur boxing competition, and wrote the book that inspired the movie The Pride of the Yankees, starring Gary Cooper.

Gallico is known for his short stories and novels, several of which were adapted to TV and film. His short story The Snow Goose received the O. Henry Award for short fiction; his novel Love of Seven Dolls was adapted into Lili, an Oscar-winning film.





No comments:

Post a Comment