Friday, January 15, 2016

Friday's Film Adaption: Ann Vickers by Sinclair Lewis

Some reviewers were outraged by Ann Vickers when it first appeared in 1933. "Persons unused to horrid and filthy things had better stay at a safe distance from this book," wrote one. Lewis's Ann Vickers is a complex character: a strong-minded prison superintendent dedicated to enlightened social reform, she also seeks to fulfill herself as a sexual being. Ann Vickers is in all respects her own person, standing up to the confining rules of her society.

A social worker's fight for reform is compromised by her love for a corrupt judge.
Release Date: September 26, 1933
Release Time: 76 minutes

Irene Dunne as Ann Vickers
Walter Huston as Barney Dolphin
Conrad Nagel as Lindsey Atwell
Bruce Cabot as Captain Resnick
Edna May Oliver as Malvina Wormser
Sam Hardy as Russell Spaulding
Mitchell Lewis as Captain Waldo
Murray Kinnell as Dr. Slenk
Helen Eby-Rock as Kitty Cognac
Gertrude Michael as Mona Dolphin
J. Carrol Naish as Dr. Sorelle (as J. Carroll Naish)
Sarah Padden as Lil
Reginald Barlow as Chaplain
Rafaela Ottiano as Mrs. Feldermans (as Rafaella Ottiano)

Author Bio:
Sinclair Lewis was born in 1885 in Sauk Centre, Minnesota, and graduated from Yale University in 1908. His college career was interrupted by various part-time occupations, including a period working at the Helicon Home Colony, Upton Sinclair's socialist experiment in New Jersey. He worked for some years as a free lance editor and journalist, during which time he published several minor novels. But with the publication of Main Street (1920), which sold half a million copies, he achieved wide recognition. This was followed by the two novels considered by many to be his finest, Babbitt (1922) and Arrowsmith (1925), which was awarded the Pulitzer Prize in 1926, but declined by Lewis. In 1930, following Elmer Gantry (1927) and Dodsworth (1929), Sinclair Lewis became the first American author to be awarded the Nobel Prize for distinction in world literature. This was the apogee of his literary career, and in the period from Ann Vickers (1933) to the posthumously published World So Wide (1951) Lewis wrote ten novels that reveal the progressive decline of his creative powers. From Main Street to Stockholm, a collection of his letters, was published in 1952, and The Man from Main Street, a collection of essays, in 1953. During his last years Sinclair Lewis wandered extensively in Europe, and after his death in Rome in 1951 his ashes were returned to his birthplace.




No comments:

Post a Comment